VeganMoFo: Flavor Bible Week – Mint

I wasn’t thrilled when I landed on page 219 of the Flavor Bible, mint.  While I love peppermint flavor, I don’t really like fresh mint, so matching it with anything was going to be a palette challenge.  I took the easy route and went with one of the “flavor affinities”:  mint + cilantro + dill.  I also added other flavor matches with beans and yogurt.

This is bean salad with herbed yogurt dressing.  In the bowl is a can of chickpeas, drained, a can of black beans, drained, 1 1/2 cups thawed frozen green beans, 6 ounces plain soy yogurt, 1/3 cup each chopped fresh mint, cilantro and dill, the juice of one lemon, a Tablespoon of olive oil, and salt and pepper.  This turned out okay, but it’s definitely not one of my favorites.  The cilantro and dill did turn out to be a great match for the mint; In each bite, a different herb came to the forefront.  I couldn’t really put my finger on why I didn’t love it.  Maybe it was the yogurt?  Maybe the dressing needed a touch of sweetness?  Dunno.

Served in a whole wheat pita with spinach, it made for a nice and filling lunch.

1 Comment »

  1. [...] Bible Week led to interesting experiments such as Parsnip Spice Muffins, Chestnut-Celeriac Soup, Bean Salad with Herbed Yogurt Dressing, the Lychee-Dori, and Mushroom, Cheddar & Chive Crustless Quiche, which is still one of the [...]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

