Hello Fall!

Fall is quite possibly my favorite season.  I’ve been getting pumped up for Fall, but it hadn’t yet felt like Fall.  Until today.  It’s been hot lately here, thanks to our “Indian Summer“, but the air was crisp and cool today.

Every year when gourds appear in stores, I am compelled to buy a variety just to have around the house.  Here’s my collection so far.

Also, this:

Brussels on the stem!

It’s been a good day.  I took care of a bunch of nagging errands, shopped at my favorite grocery store, and now I’m watching college football and playoff baseball.  To take advantage of the weather, we grilled for dinner.

Balsamic portobello, fingerling potatoes and amazing baby yellow zucchini with garlic.  The texture of the zucchini was like buttah.  After dinner we were both feeling like dessert, so I made the fastest thing I could think of.

Microwave cakes!  I used this recipe.  I didn’t feel like mixing up an egg replacer, so I just added a bit of cornstarch to the mix.  With a proper egg replacer, I’m sure they would have risen more.  Either way, they were delicious!

It was much like a pudding cake, warm, dense and chocolaty.  I would totally make this again, and probably will.  I’d be highly interested in a microwave pumpkin cake for one.

Jake has been excited to sit on any blanket that we happen to leave laying around.

Really, that is Jake’s excited face.

Does it feel like Fall where you are?

6 Comments »

  1. Mihl said

    I wonder why they never sell Brussel sprouts on a stem here in germany. They look so amazing!

  2. ameyfm said

    hoorah! I love brussels so much. I’ve been grooving on them a lot lately. Also, yay for Jake! :)

  3. chow vegan said

    Dinner on the grill is always tasty! and the microwave cake looks great too. Yay! Another dessert that I can make! Jake is too cute. :-)

  4. sophia said

    i love those brussels on the stem! whenever i buy them, i make sure to brandish them on the way home, letting everyone i pass know that i am not to be messed with, because i will bonk them with a brussels sprout club. it really makes me feel alive : )

  5. Mom said

    Yep, holding down blankets is an important job for any kitty, especially Jake.

    We’re having beautiful fall weather here in central FL. I’m getting ready to make some sweet potato muffins spiced with cinnamon and a bit of ginger and cloves, so it’s going to taste and smell like fall very soon!

  6. Melisser said

    Brussels! I can’t wait for them to come here.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 250 other followers

