More Overnight Oats

Since first making overnight oats I have tried a few more versions:

Sweet potato oats – The original recipe, but with 1/2 cup mashed sweet potato instead of the banana.

Topped with maple syrup, cinnamon, nutmeg and cacao nibs.  It was like pumpkin pie for breakfast!

Oatmeal raisin cookie overnight oats – topped with raisins and a whole bunch of molasses.

All mixed up.  It was very molasses-y!  I thought the raisins were very nice as a mix in.

If you haven’t tried overnight oats yet, try ‘em!  I am very sadly out of chia seeds and can’t wait to get more to have these oats again.

Unrelated, but also very good – homemade applesauce!

This was four apples, unpeeled, and four minced dried apricots, cooked down for about two hours with water and then mixed with ground cinnamon and ginger.  So good!  I was still feeling sick at the time and not able to eat whole fruit, so this was a great way to use up some apples I got from the CSA.

(By the way, I am feeling much better and well on my way to recovering from Bell’s Palsy.  Thanks to everyone who wished me well!)

8 Comments »

  1. mihl said

    I think I should try this! I sometimes eat oats for lunch at work (crazy, I know). This would be so easy to prepare and pack. I love all the possibilities and especially the version with raisins and molasses.

  2. AngelaOSG said

    WOW!!! genius. I will have to try this!

  3. Glad you’re feeling better! I’m not even sure what Bell’s Palsy is, but it sounds serious to have a name like that! And I’m glad you made it to wherever you were flying the other day!

    I just copied and pasted the overnight oats recipe. I have everything to make it in my pantry! I’m so on this. Thanks!

    • veganhomemade said

      Thanks Bianca!

  4. Jaime said

    Wow, looks like you’re having dessert for breakfast! ;-) I have tried overnight oats a few times and didn’t particularly care for it, but I think I may need to continue experimenting. It’s a really handy (and healthy) time saver after all.

    • veganhomemade said

      I absolutely adore overnight oats, but I can definitely see how some people might not like the texture. I say give them another try!

  5. [...] Overnight Oats and again and [...]

  6. Michal said

    Yum! I just love overnight oats :)

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers

