Superbowl Sunday & Laptop Lunches

I didn’t feel emotionally invested at all in the Superbowl this year, but it IS a once a year event so we still had a few people over to watch.  I’m still trying to eat healthily and drop some pounds, so to keep my hands out of the chip bags I put together a veggie tray with hummus.  I used the hummus recipe in Veganomicon which is a nice, mild hummus.

I knew I wouldn’t get by without something crunchy and munchy, so I made Chex Mix based on the original recipe.  I was all out of vegan worcestershire sauce, so I substituted a mixture of soy sauce, liquid smoke, hot sauce, chili powder and paprika.

Now I have multiple half eaten boxes of Chex in the pantry!

For my entree I kept it simple and just had a veggie burger, but I did come up with a new potato to go on the side.  I was thinking that I hadn’t had enough mustard in my life lately, and the weather was a little yucky, so I went for warm and majorly mustardy.

This recipe makes a boatload – enough for 10 or more, so if it’s just for you or your family I’d suggest halving the recipe.

Warm Mustard & Leek Potato Salad

4 lbs new potatoes, skin on, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
2 Tbs olive oil
2 leeks, white and light green parts thinly sliced and washed
2 celery ribs, thinly sliced
1 Tbs olive oil
4 Tbs stone ground mustard
2 Tbs dijon mustard
3 Tbs white wine vinegar
1 tsp salt
1 tsp white pepper
1 Tbs dried parsley
1 tsp fennel seed
1 Tbs sugar

Place the potatoes in a large pot and cover with water. Bring to a boil, turn down the heat to medium high, and cook for 6-7 minutes or until easily pierced with a fork. Drain and transfer to a very large bowl.

In the meantime, heat the 2 Tbs olive oil to medium heat in a medium saucepan. Add the leeks and celery and saute 9-10 minutes, until soft.

Add the remaining ingredients (1 Tbs olive oil through sugar) to the saucepan, mix well and cook until heated through. Pour the dressing over the potatoes and carefully stir to combine. Serve immediately.

Serves 10-12.

I was worried that the leftovers would dry out in the fridge overnight, but this salad is equally as good as cold leftovers.

Here be some lunches I’ve taken to work.

1-22 roasted veggie quiche, raw collard & carrot ribbons,
pretzels, gherkins, piece of dark chocolate

1-27 white bean & leek cassoulet, steamed kale
with nutritional yeast, a pear

1-29 fennel-chickpea “tuna” salad sandwich, celery & broccoli, goddess dressing, piece of dark mint chocolate, kiwi & banana

2-2 veggies & hummus, mustard & leek potato salad, chex mix

2-3 cheesy broccoli & rice casserole, raw beet salad over lettuce, vanilla soy yogurt with blueberries, pretzels, piece of dark mint chocolate

2-4 polenta with beet greens, tofurkey italian sausage with caramelized onions & radicchio, baby carrots & hummus, grapes

2-5 cheesy broccoli & rice casserole, raw beet salad over lettuce,
mustard & leek potato salad, baby carrots, grapes

12 Comments »

  1. Megan said

    All your food looks so delicious!

  2. Mandee said

    That veggie platter & hummus looks delish!

  3. VeggieGirl said

    Fabulous party eats and laptop meals!!

  4. This is one of the best posts I’ve seen anywhere in a long time! First of all, what a great veggie platter you had for the Superbowl! And you’ve just reminded me of one of my favorite things: homemade trail mix! I’m going to have to make that soon.

    But the most amazing part of this post was the pictures of your beautiful lunches! You eat such beautiful, healthy meals! I plan on writing down all of your lunch ideas so I can incorporate them into my menu planning. Thank you for all of the inspiration!

  5. Carrie said

    Yum! I love mustard and I love potatoes!

  6. Dana said

    I must know, how do you make your broccoli and rice casserole without cheese? I miss that so much but I haven’t come up with a good way to get rid of the dairy. My original recipe comes from my grandma and it looks just like yours.

  7. Healthy Super Bowl eats!!! I, on the other hand, gorged on chips and bean dip. Oh well…this was the first year I paid attention during the game. Usually I just get drunk and watch the commercials. But I decided, based on this game, that I LOVE FOOTBALL! That Harrison 100-yard touchdown was amazing!

  8. Mom said

    “Multiple half-eaten boxes of Chex in the pantry”…now there’s a good reason to make more Chex Mix, or maybe some White Trash.

  9. Cyn said

    That potato salad looks delicious! Putting leeks in it sounds amazing, I love leeks.

  10. oooh! that potato salad sounds so amazing! i love leeks AND mustard, so very much. all of your lunches look super healthy and delicious, as usual.

  11. Sophie said

    those lunches are the cutest thing ever! they would sell like hotcakes!

    awesome superbowl stuff too. i’m not that into it either, but i really like what you made!

  12. Melisser said

    Dang, your laptop lunches always look SO good!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 241 other followers

