Orange Tofu with Broccoli

Okay, so THAT is orange tofu with bok choy.  I realized after making this again that I never followed up with the recipe last time I made it.  I definitely wanted to share this one, cause I like it a lot.  As in, I made it twice in two months which is not normal for me.  I like that I usually have all the ingredients on hand.

The version with bok choy was just okay.  Make it with broccoli.  Trust me.  Oh, and here are directions for dry-frying tofu.

Orange Tofu with Broccoli

1 lb. extra-firm tofu, cut into cubes or triangles
bunch of broccoli, cut into florets
4 cloves garlic
4 green onions
3/4 c water
1/4 c orange juice
1 Tbs lemon juice
2 Tbs seasoned rice vinegar
4 Tbs soy sauce
1/4 c brown sugar
1/2 tsp red pepper
1 Tbs cornstarch

Dry-fry tofu until browned, or saute in oil if preferred. Steam broccoli until crisp-tender.

Whisk remaining ingredients in a small bowl. Heat a large skillet to medium, and add tofu, broccoli and sauce mixture. Bring to a simmer, then continue to simmer until the sauce is reduced to your liking, stirring occasionally.

Serve over brown rice.

Serves 4.

14 Comments »

  1. melisser said

    Mmm, that looks SO good!

  2. jessy said

    hooray for some tasty orange tofu! it looks so awesome (and sounds absolutely delicious!)! isn’t dry-frying tofy the best?!? we learned about it a few months back and i think i’m addicted to the method! ahahhaaha. yay! everything i try and cook bok choy it always ends up kinda mushy. gonna have to make your dish with broccoli, fo ‘sho!

  3. VeggieGirl said

    GORGEOUS color!!

  4. Carrie said

    I’ve never tried orange tofu before, I am intrigued! Thanks for the recipe.

  5. Nicole said

    Mmmmmmm!

  6. this looks sooo good. i love the color.

  7. Ricki said

    Sounds fabulous! Love the color and flavors in this. :)

  8. Mihl said

    This sounds amazing! Thank you for sharing the recipe.

  9. I love orange-y stir-fry sauces. And they keep the scurvy away! Arrggghhh!

  10. veggievixen19 said

    oooh thank you!! i’ve been wanting a good recipe for orange tofu for ages.

  11. denny said

    Ohhhh very nice. Thanks for sharing!

  12. Cedarblue said

    I echo all the previous comments – looking tasty Erin!

  13. Kaye said

    I’m coming to the party two years late, but this was fantastic! There’s a chance that with it, I might be the BEST vegetarian cook in my whole town. (Of course, there’s a chance that I’m the ONLY vegetarian cook in my whole town, but that’s a different issue.) Even my carnivore spouse loved it!

  14. […] in Appetite for Reduction), steamed with a cheesy sauce, or roasted plain, but I also love this Orange Tofu with Broccoli.  It’s probably my favorite make-at-home Chinese, and looking back at the recipe now, […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 252 other followers

