What do sick vegans eat?

Okay, I don’t know what sick vegans in general eat, but this is what I ate while I was sick.  After starting meds and taking an intense nap while my fever broke, I felt well enough to get off the couch and take some pictures.

bread

This is the brand of storebought bread I like to buy.  It’s the only one on the whole bread aisle that’s vegan AND doesn’t have high fructose corn syrup.  It’s sweetened with raisin juice!  And it tastes good.

pb toast

Peanut butter toast is my favorite sick food.  It’s easy to digest and helps keep my tummy nausea-free.

When I was a kid and got sick my mom would give me orange Gatorade and toast or crackers.  I never want to drink water when I’m not feeling well, but I don’t want to get dehydrated.  So I wanted to get some Gatorade, but when I checked the ingredients, high fructose corn syrup was the first or second ingredient on every list!  Powerade too.  Stupid hfcs, it’s everywhere.  Instead I got white grape pomegranate juice and fizzy water and made a cocktail.

juice

Then I got real crazy and made one with oj too.

juice

And when you don’t have the energy to even put together a sandwich?

popcorn

Popcorn for dinner.  And what sick girl doesn’t deserve ice cream?

ice cream

ice cream

A while back, Katie of Chocolate Covered Vegan recommended oat bran to me, since I don’t like oatmeal that much.  And let me just say – it’s fabulous!  I now love oat bran.  It cooks in the microwave in minutes and comes out like a smooth porridge, with all the benefit of oats.  Thank you, Katie!  My first tries at oat bran included pumpkin, and the second morning I got it just right.  I cooked it with pumpkin puree, almond milk, maple syrup and a pinch of salt then added walnuts and cinnamon.

oat bran

When I started to feel better I got bf to take me to Moe’s for lunch.  I opted for the new multigrain tortilla, but I don’t recommend it.  It has a doughy texture and the Moe’s guy had a hard time wrapping it, which is understandable.  Also, I’m a dummy and didn’t double-check that it’s vegan, and it tasted like it may have honey in it.  The burrito was still good though.  I like to get no rice and add extra veggies.  Not that I don’t like their rice, but I feel like a huge tortilla and chips is carbtastic enough for one meal.

I also made what I’m dubbing the vegan McRib with leftover Barbecued Seitan Ribz and Apricot BBQ Sauce.

mcrib

Thank you to everyone who commented on my last post with well wishes!  I’m feeling all better now, although I still have a number of huge pink pills to take to finish out the antibiotics.  I have some restaurant foods to share next time, but now I’m off to prepare for a wiffleball game, weather willing, a potluck brunch tomorrow, and a visit from a friend who’s in town for the weekend.

15 Comments »

  1. VeggieGirl said

    So glad that you’re feeling better – let’s keep it that way!! :0)

  2. Hope you are feeling better! Am sure those yummy fizzy drinks you made definitely helped!

  3. Sorry to hear that you weren’t feeling well, but I’m glad to hear that you’re feeling better now!

    When I was younger and I got sick, my mom would also feed me nothing but crackers and Gatorade (which I would never even consider drinking now), so I’ll be sure to keep your juice and bubbly water idea in mind next time I’m sick (hopefully not for awhile!)

  4. therabbitholedesigns said

    This makes me really hungry…

  5. Glad you’re better! Ice “cream” and PB are definitely great for when you’re under the weather.

  6. Peanut butter toast is a favorite of mine too, even when I am not sick. Good to know that you avoided the high fructose corn syrup. There is a documentary called King Corn that is worth a watch if you haven’t seen it. It follows two friends who decide to grow their own acre of corn and follow it as is grows and eventually makes its way into our food systems. I am glad you are feeling better! Those fizzy drinks would be the perfect summer refreshment!

  7. I eat oatmeal when I’m sick. Exclusively! But oat bran is as good as oatmeal ;-)

  8. Erin said

    HFCS sucks!! Glad you’re doing better though, darling. I DO have a “sick food” recommendation, as well: Amy’s Split Pea Soup. Extremely tasty, indeed… :D

  9. jessy said

    thanks for posting all the yummies a vegan can enjoy when they’re feeling a little under the weather. looks like you’ve got some good eats for get’n better!
    and i’m glad you’re feeling better!

    the mcrib sammie looks so tasty and awesome! and oat bran, huh?! i need to give that a shot, too. i do like oatmeal, but sometimes a i could use a little change. you make it look so delcious – i wish i had that for breakfast today!

    i hope you got to play wiffleball – and had fun @ the potluck!

  10. Lauren said

    yum..you eat well for a sickly vegan! :)

    and i just finished off my cookie avalanche icecream last night actually.. isn’t it just amazing? haha it’s probably my favorite flavor they have.. :)

  11. Carrie said

    Glad you’re feeling better.

    I’ve always wanted to make a McRib sandwich with leftover seitan ribs…but there’s never any leftovers.

  12. Liz² said

    that McRib is a thing of pure beauty! and my goodness, your sick food looks amazing, you should come cook for me when I get sniffly (or anytime, really!)

  13. veganhomemade said

    Vegan Addict, that sounds really interesting, thanks for the recommendation. I was just talking with some friends the other day about how much it would suck to be allergic to corn, since it’s in everything.

    Erin, I think I actually have a can of that soup in my pantry! Love it. I guess I just wasn’t in a soup mood that week.

    Jessy, definitely try some oatbran, it’s great. We didn’t get to play wiffleball that day, but we did the next and I hit a walk off home run to win the game :)

    Lauren, I ate well after I got the medication :) Beforehand I could barely stand for more than a few minutes. The cookia avalanche IS amazing, that’s why I don’t keep it in the house very often, I polish it off in two or three servings.

  14. Danni said

    You seem to eat a lot of processed foods..

    • This post is about what I was eating during a time when I was so sick I could barely get off the couch, so yes, I reached for a lot of processed foods! This is definitely not representative of how I normally eat.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 249 other followers

